The Art of the Tote

A blog about totes

Beckel Canvas Totes

with 8 comments

I was driving through Portland last Sunday when I spied a charming window display of white canvas totes, tents, and packs. The store, Beckel Canvas Products, was closed, but I took some photos through the windows. (Pardon the reflectiony images; it was a beautifully sunny day.) This tote, the “Handi Bag” was my favorite:

It’s made of thick canvas with bits of leather reinforcement. You can see another one back farther in the workshop here:

Other kit bags:

Store sign:

More stock farther back in the shop:

The window display also featured a stuffed raccoon working an antique sewing machine and a beaver peeking out of a miniature canvas outhouse (complete with crescent moon window!) while solving a crossword puzzle:

See all the rest of Beckel Canvas’ products here.

Written by elizatruitt

April 21, 2009 at 7:09 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great photos, actually! Much better than the ones on their site, funny enough.

    Fern

    April 30, 2009 at 4:06 am

    • Thanks, Fern! Man, would I ever love to take some good photos of their products for them…

      elizatruitt

      April 30, 2009 at 5:38 am

  2. That’s hilarious — I went over there this past Sunday & found them closed too (remember: Sunday hours 9-Noon). My camera was in the car so I snapped a few shots through their windows too!

    CE

    May 6, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    • I hate Sunday hours like that. So did you post any of the photos online? I’d love to see them!

      elizatruitt

      May 6, 2009 at 11:16 pm

      • I haven’t posted them yet but I will (on Flickr). I’ll let you know when I do. Meanwhile, I’m going over to Beckel this afternoon to pick up a graduation gift for my niece (something nice and sturdy from Portland, that will also house the $$gift that most graduates really need) — the Handi, the Possibilities or maybe the War bag.

        CE

        May 7, 2009 at 4:12 pm

  3. Lucky niece!

    elizatruitt

    May 7, 2009 at 4:17 pm


Leave a Reply

