The Art of the Tote

A blog about totes

Tote Profile: Alice

with 6 comments

Alice is a friend and fellow tote enthusiast. All told she has about a dozen; this first one is my favorite. It’s from Marblehead Handprints and it was her book bag in college. The color is rich and intense, and I love the way the canvas is so thick it can stand up on its own after years of frequent use:

I found a few nice beach rocks in the bottom:

Here’s a closeup of the label; there’s not much info online about Marblehead Handprints other than it was started in Marblehead, MA in the 70s by Molly Haley.

Other totes in her collection include this small Marimekko tote:

a yellow leather Furla tote:

straw tote:

new custom LL Bean tote:

beautiful black suede tote lined with red leather:

The red ribbon zipper pull was Alice’s personal addition to the bag:

Thanks to Alice for this tour of totes!

Written by elizatruitt

April 23, 2009 at 6:24 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m loving your blog so much! I have a real love a tote bags so your blog really hits the spot! It would be so great if you could give links where possible to where we might purchase each tote. I’m looking everywhere for that yellow Furla with no luck! Thank you and keep the totes coming!

    love, talia

    talia

    April 23, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    • That’s a good idea, Talia. I just looked around on the Furla website (it’s very hard to navigate), and sadly I didn’t see anything like the yellow tote. I think it’s a few years old, which might make it hard to find. I’m guessing eBay might be your best bet.

      elizatruitt

      April 23, 2009 at 9:26 pm

  2. What an awesome blog. I just picked up a Beckel bag – thanks for the info!

    Suz

    April 24, 2009 at 3:14 pm

  3. Hey, that Marblehead tote looked so familiar to me. I found these which I guess are inspired by them? Cute!

    RebeccaB

    April 24, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    • So I believe Ann Veronica took some classes from Molly Haley and was very much inspired by her, which explains a lot of the similarities. There’s a little more info here.

      elizatruitt

      April 24, 2009 at 11:51 pm

  4. Woah! I’m a Marblehead native, born in 1971, and seeing that transported me back to the 70s.

    Ernst Blofeld

    January 8, 2013 at 9:13 am


Leave a Reply

